RED RED SHOES | INITIAL STORY BOARD

My design for the touring production of Red Red Shoes is to be set on a traverse stage. I intend to focus the design around the concept of being inside ‘the head of a traumatised child’. I think that this is a significant theme within the play, one that could create something really interesting. For example, as the play is set inside a young child’s mind, it allows the design to be slightly more fantastical (a little bit off). As well as focusing on the mind of a child, I will also look at incorporating a medical feel into the design. This is due to the fact the story continuously flips back to sitting in hospital interacting with a doctor about what has happened to her.

For the opening scene I wanted it to feel relatively normal. The idea that you are within a normal child’s bedroom, but also leave questions there too. One of the key ideas within this scene is that I would like the costumes for the characters in the play to come from Franveras room; as if they were coming from her imagination. An example of this would be the red scarf hanging on her bed becoming Red Beard’s beard. As the actors put on their costume, they strip the bedroom a little barer, until it eventually becomes a stark medical space.

initial-begining

The next space that I have considered is the Drs office. Here the scene would be very stark, very medical. A singular hospital bed in centre stage with lit up medical screens at either end. The doctor as a character, I would like to appear as a shadow puppet; as someone who is excluded from her imagination. Also within this space a small medical table is brought on with a laptop.

I intend to attempt to solder some of these elements together when making my model box. I see them as all being plain silver and metal.

initial-dr-office

When Franvera is forced to leave the town by the soldiers, she enters the forest. To create the forest I want something more ambiguous than literally bringing on trees. So for this scene I have thought about using the bunting to give the illusion of a forest. I want the characters to be able to weave through the bunting as if it were hanging branches. A possible change that I would make to this scene is to make the bunting more autumnal colours, rather than bright red.

To aid the image of a forest I am also contemplating adding different things to put on the floor. These would be to create noises, for example crackles and snaps. This would help the children to imagine the forest even more.

initial-forest

Another strong image in this play is that of the Black Boots. These are the symbol of the soldiers, of Franvera being ripped from her home, Of her losing her father and ultimately of her death. I think that this is a really important image to get right.

I like the idea of the screens containing the boots, and then also the idea of the cast climbing through the screens with big boots on. The idea of the boots coming through the wall of screens also helps to portray the sense of the room being ‘edgeless’. This is another key theme mentioned within the play; The idea of reaching ‘the edge of the edgeless room’. This offers the idea of the containment of the surgery, and also the unstable elements of the young child’s mind.

Another idea I had for this scene was to utilise the bunting in another way. It would be an interesting image if the bunting were to clip to the screens, and then encircle the screens. I think this adds another layer of madness and being trapped.

initial-boots-image

The last space that I have considered is the refugee camp. Again I have considered using the bunting as a scenic element. I came up with the idea of creating a tent around Franvera with the bunting. Although I think this could become interesting aesthetically, I think that  practically it would create some issues.

initial-refugee-scene

Leave a Reply

